12 Temples of the Ancient

Ancient Mataram Kingdom The legacy of the Ancient Mataram Kingdom is proof of the glory of this kingdom which has an advanced society and culture. One of the relics of the Ancient Mataram Kingdom is the Hindu-Buddhist temples.The temple is the work of the ancient Mataram community which is famous for its excellence in the field of art. The Ancient Mataram Kingdom was a Hindu-Buddhist kingdom that was found in southern Central Java in the 8th century. Then, the kingdom moved to East Java in the 10th century 12 Temples of the Ancient Mataram Kingdom

In Central Java. The location of the Ancient Mataram Kingdom is estimat at Bhumi Mataram (as Yogyakarta was call in the past). The Ancient Mataram Kingdom ruled for nearly three centuries with three dynasties ruling it, namely the Sanjaya dynasty and the Syailendra dynasty in Central Java. While the Isyana dynasty in East Java. The founder of the Ancient Mataram Kingdom was Rakai Mataram the Queen Sanjaya who ruled the kingdom between 732 – 760 AD.

12 Temples of the Ancient Mataram Kingdom

Legacy of the Ancient Mataram Kingdom

1. Sewu Temple

Sewu Temple is located in Bugisan Village. Prambanan District. Klaten. Central Java. The location of Sewu Temple is approximately 800 meters to the south of the Rara Jongrang statue. The temple complex is quite large. In which there are 249 buildings consisting of the main temple, 240 perwara temples, and eight flanked temples.

2. Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple is located in Magelang Regency. Central Java. This ancient Mataram Kingdom heritage is a very famous temple in the world. Borobudur Temple was built during the time of King Samaratungga of the Syailendra Dynasty. The construction of the temple was complet on May 26, 824. Which is said to have taken nearly 100 years.

As the largest Buddhist temple in Indonesia, Borobudur which has a height of 42 meters consists of 10 levels. At the base is call Kamadhatu. The four levels above are Rupadhatu. And the top is call Arupadhatu. At each level there are reliefs that reflect the teachings of Buddha.

3. Prambanan Temple

Prambanan Temple is locat about 17 Km to the east of Yogyakarta. temple complex also known as Candi Loro Jonggrang was built in the 10th century. The construction of the temple during the reign of Rakai Pikatan and Rakai Balitung as a manifestation of the glory of Hinduism in Java.

The Prambanan Temple Complex has three east-facing temples located in the main courtyard, namely the Vishnu, Shiva, and Brahma temples. The three temples are symbols of Trimurti in Hindu belief. Each temple has one companion temple facing west, namely Nindi for Shiva, Garuda for Vishnu, and Angsa for Brahma.

4. Gedong Songo Temple

Gedong Songo Temple is located at the top of Mount Ungaran, Central Java. The exact location of the temple is in Candi Village, Somawono District, Semarang, Central Java. This Hindu temple has similarities with the temples in Dieng. Doth of which are consider the oldest temples in Central Java.

The founder and age of the building cannot be ascertain because there is no inscription that explains it.
As the name suggests. Gedong Songo Temple consists of nine temples lined up from the bottom up which are connect by a path.

5. Pawon Temple

Pawon Temple is located between Mendut Temple and Borobudur Temple. To be precise, the location of Pawon Temple is in Brojolan Hamlet, Wanurejo Village, Borobudur District, Magelang Regency, Central Java. The location of the three adjacent temples is estimat that the three were found as an inseparable unit. From the research. It is stat that the relief of Pawon Temple is the beginning of the relief of Borobudur Temple.

6. Mendut Temple

Mendut Temple is located 3 Km to the east of Borobudur Temple. The founder of Mendut Temple was King Indra of the Syailendra Dynasty who had the title Sri Sanggramadananjaya. This Buddhist-style temple is estimat to have been built in 824 AD. Or earlier than the construction of Borobudur Temple. Inside the temple there are three large statues. Namely Avalokiteswara. Cakyamuni. And Maitreya.

7. Dieng Temple

Dieng Temple is located in Kejajar District. Wonosobo Regency.  Central Java. This Hindu-style temple spread across the Dieng plateau consists of several temples. There are temples that stand alone or in groups in small complexes. Each temple is nam after a puppet character. Such as Bima Temple. Gatotkaca Temple. Arjuna Temple. Puntadewa Temple. Srikandi Temple, and Semar Temple. The founder of the temple cannot be ascertain. But the construction of the temple is estimat to have taken place between the 7th century and the 13th century.

8. Kalasan Temple

Kalasan Temple is located in Tirtomartani Village, Kalasan District, Sleman, Yogyakarta. The Buddhist temple was built in 778 AD which is an offering to the Goddess Tara. The 34 meter high temple building has three parts. Namely the bottom or the foot of the temple. The body of the temple. And the roof of the temple.

9. Plaosan Temple

 is located in Bugisan Hamlet. Prambanan District Sleman Regency Yogyakarta Plaosan Temple is also call  the twin temple because it consists of two temple buildings of the same shape Rakai Pikatan, the King of Ancient Mataram deliberately built a temple for his wife named Pramudyawardani The temple building has 116 stupas and 50 pewara temples (accompaniment temples).

10. Sambisari Temple

is located in Sambisari Hamlet, Kalasan District, Sleman Regency, Yogyakarta  Sambisari Temple is a Hindu-style temple This is evidenc by the Old Javanese writing on metal plates which means Lord Shiva The writing style refers to the beginning of the 9th century Which is still related to the reign of Rakai Garung.

11. Ngawen Temple

Ngawen Temple is located in Ngawen Hamlet. Muntilan District. Magelang. Central Java. In the Karang Tengah inscription it is stat  that this Buddhist style temple was built in the 8th century. The architecture of the temple is very unique, namely the lion statue that supports the four sides of the building.

The style of carving a lion statue resembling a lion’s symbol in Singapore can be found in several temples in the Mathura area. India. 12. Sojiwan Temple Sojiwan Temple is located in Kebon Dalem Kidul Village. Prambanan District. Prambanan Regency. Sleman. Yogyakarta.

Sojiwan Temple is a Buddhist temple that was built around the 9th century to the 10th century AD. The uniqueness of the temple in the Prambanan complex is found in the temple reliefs that tell stories of animals. Sojiwan Temple is the fifth largest temple in Central Java Province. 12 Temples of the Ancient Mataram Kingdom


Open chat
Iam Guest Posting Service
I Have 600 Site
Status : Indexed All
Good DA : 40-60
Different Nice I Category
Drip Feed Allowed
I can instant publish

My Service :
1. I will do your orders maximum of 1X24 hours, if at the time i’am online. I will do a maximum of 1 hour and the process is complete.
2. If any of you orders are not completed a maximum of 1x24 hours, you do not have to pay me, or free.
3. For the weekend, I usually online, that weekend when i’am not online, it means i’am working Monday.
4. For the payment, maximum payed one day after published live link.
5. Payment via paypal account
If you interesting, please reply
Thank You